ABSA GROUP LIMITED

Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa (Registration number: 1986/003934/06) JSE share code: ABG ISIN: ZAE000255915 Bond issuer code: ABGI ("Absa Group" or "Group")

CHANGES TO ABSA GROUP BOARD AND COMMITTEES

In accordance with paragraphs 3.59 of the Equity Listings Requirements and 6.39 of the Debt Listings Requirements of the JSE Limited, shareholders are informed that Alpheus Mangale has been appointed as an independent non-executive director of Absa Group with effect from 1 July 2023.

Alpheus is a seasoned senior executive, with over 25 years' experience across financial services, telecoms, enterprise and technology markets in Europe, Middle East, and Africa region. He is currently the group chief executive officer for Seacom Limited. Alpheus has previously served on various boards and performed several senior leadership roles in the financial services and technology industries.

Alpheus holds a National Diploma in Computer Systems Engineering (Tshwane University of Technology); and completed the Advanced Management Programme at Harvard Business School.

Alpheus will become a member of the Group Risk and Capital Management Committee (GRCMC) and Information Technology Committee (ITC).

Shareholders are also advised of the following changes to the Group Board committees, also effective 1 July 2023: The Group Chairman, Sello Moloko, will become a member of the Board Finance Committee (BFC), while Swithin Munyantwali will join the Group Credit Risk Committee (GCRC). Fulvio Tonelli, who becomes an independent non-executive director on 1 July 2023, will step off the ITC and join the Group Audit and Compliance Committee (GACC).

Johannesburg 7 June 2023

Enquiries: Nadine Drutman +27 (0) 11 350 5347 E-mail: Nadine.Drutman@absa.africa

Lead Independent Sponsor: J.P. Morgan Equities South Africa Proprietary Limited

Joint Sponsor: Absa Bank - Corporate and Investment Bank