### **ABSA GROUP LIMITED**

Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa (Registration number: 1986/003934/06)

JSE share code: ABG ISIN: ZAE000255915 Bond issuer code: ABGI ("Absa Group" or "Group")

## **ABSA BANK LIMITED**

(Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa) (Registration number: 1986/004794/06)

JSE share code: ABSP ISIN: ZAE000079810 Bond issuer code: BIABS

("Absa Bank")

# APPOINTMENT OF LEAD INDEPENDENT DIRECTOR AND CHANGES TO ABSA BANK AND GROUP BOARD AND COMMITTEES

With reference to the SENS announcement on 12 November 2021 and in accordance with paragraph 3.59 of the JSE Limited (JSE) Listings Requirements as well as paragraph 6.39 of the JSE Debt Listings Requirements, shareholders are informed that Nonhlanhla Mjoli-Mncube has been appointed as the Lead Independent Director of Absa Group and Absa Bank, with effect from 8 February 2022. Furthermore, Nonhlanhla has joined the Absa Bank Board and the Absa Group Directors' Affairs Committee (DAC).

Shareholders are also advised of the appointment of Rose Keanly as the chairman of the Group Remuneration Committee, as well as a member of the Absa Bank Board and the DAC, also with effect from 8 February 2022. Rose will step down as a member of the Group Risk and Capital Management Committee.

Johannesburg 9 February 2022

# **Enquiries:**

Nadine Drutman +27 (0) 11 350 5347

E-mail: Nadine.Drutman@absa.africa

#### **Lead Independent Sponsor:**

J.P. Morgan Equities South Africa Proprietary Limited

## **Joint Sponsor:**

Absa Bank - Corporate and Investment Bank