ABSA GROUP LIMITED

(Incorporated in (Registration number:

1986/003934/06) ISIN: ZAE000067237 JSE share code: ASA Issuer code: AMAGB

(Absa Group)

ABSA BANK LIMITED

(Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa) the Republic of South Africa) (Registration number: 1986/004794/06) ISIN: ZAE000079810 JSE share code: ABSP

(Absa Bank)

APPOINTMENT OF GROUP COMPANY SECRETARY

In compliance with paragraph 3.59(a) of the Listings Requirements of the JSE Limited, the respective boards of directors of Absa Group and Absa Bank hereby wish to inform shareholders that Ms Nadine Drutman has been appointed as Group Company Secretary of Absa Group and Absa Bank with effect from 21 May 2012.

Johannesburg 21 May 2012

Enquiries:

David Hodnett - Group Financial Director

Telephone: +27 (0)11 350-2623Email: david.hodnett@absa.co.za

Lead independent sponsor: J.P. Morgan Equities Limited

Joint sponsor:

Absa Capital (the Investment Banking Division of Absa Bank Limited and affiliated with Barclays)