ABSA GROUP LIMITED

Authorised financial services and registered credit provider (NCRCP7)

Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa Registration number: 1986/003934/06

ISIN: ZAE000067237 JSE share code: ASA Issuer code: AMAGB

(Absa, Absa Group, the Group or the Company)

ABSA BANK LIMITED

(Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa) (Registration number: 1986/004794/06)

ISIN: ZAE000079810 JSE share code: ABSP

(Absa Bank)

APPOINTMENT OF NEW CHAIRMAN TO THE ABSA GROUP AND ABSA BANK BOARDS

Absa announces the appointment of Ms Wendy Lucas-Bull, 59, as the new Independent Non-executive Chairman of Absa Group and Absa Bank, succeeding Garth Griffin.

Subject to regulatory approval, Ms Lucas-Bull will take up the position on 1 April 2013. Mr Griffin earlier this year announced his intention to retire once a successor was appointed. He will step down from his Absa Board, Board committee and other Absa positions on 31 March 2013.

Ms Lucas-Bull has extensive banking experience, as well as widespread expertise as a director on company boards across multiple industries in the private and public sectors.

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES: WENDY LUCAS-BULL

Professional experience includes:

International Partner, Johannesburg/London Andersen Consulting (now Accenture) 1978 – 1994;

Executive Director, **RMB Holdings Limited** 1995 – 2000;

Chief Executive Retail Business **FirstRand Group** (included First National Bank, WesBank, Outsurance, Firstlink and First National's African subsidiaries) 2000 – 2004;

Director Peotona Group Holdings Proprietary Limited & Peotona Development 2004 – date

Current roles include:

Director of Peotona Group Holdings Proprietary Limited and Peotona Development (Section 21 Company); Independent Non-Executive Director of the Development Bank of Southern Africa and Anglo American Platinum Limited

President's Advisory Council for BEE

Member of the Investment Committee of the National Jobs Fund

Previous board roles include:

Director of various FirstRand Group Companies (including Momentum, Momentum Life, Outsurance, Discovery Holdings Limited, WesBank)

South African Financial Markets Advisory Board

Chairman of Business Against Crime

Telkom SA Limited

Eskom Holdings SOC Limited
Independent Deputy Chairman of the Aveng Group Limited
Independent Non-executive Director of Alexander Forbes Limited
Independent Non-executive Director of Dimension Data PLC
Independent Non-executive Director of Nedbank Group Limited (resigned 5 November 2012)

Johannesburg
6 November 2012

Enquiries

Alan Hartdegen Head: Investor Relations Absa Group Limited 3rd Floor, Absa Towers East, 170 Main Street, Johannesburg Tel: +2711 350 2598, Fax: +2711 350 5924

E-mail: Alan.Hartdegen@absa.co.za

Lead Sponsor

J.P. Morgan Equities Limited

Joint Sponsor

Corporate and Investment Banking, Absa