ABSA GROUP LIMITED

(Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa) (Registration number: 1986/003934/06)

ISIN: ZAE000067237 JSE share code: ASA Issuer code: AMAGB

(the Group or the Company)

Results of the annual general meeting (AGM)

Shareholders of the Group are advised that at the AGM held on Wednesday, 21 April 2010, all the resolutions set out in the notice of AGM sent to shareholders as part of the annual report for the year ended 31 December 2009 were passed by the requisite majority of votes.

Votes for (%)	Result

Ordinary resolutions

Resolution to consider the
Group and the Company
audited financial statements
for the year ended 31 December

2009:	99,97	Passed
	00,0.	

Resolution to sanction the proposed remuneration of non-executive directors, payable from

4 N I = OO 4 O .	00.00	D
1 May 2010:	98,96	Passed
I May Zuiu.	30.30	า สออธน

Resolution to reappoint the

Company's auditors: 99,91 Passed

Resolution to re-elect
retiring directors:

D C Brink	99,89	Passed
B P Connellan	99,89	Passed
G Griffin	99,98	Passed
D C Arnold	99,99	Passed
S A Fakie	99,99	Passed
L L von Zeuner	99,99	Passed
B J Willemse	99,99	Passed
R Le Blanc	99,75	Passed
M J Husain	99,99	Passed
S G Pretorius	99,99	Passed

Resolution to confirm the appointment of a new director appointed after the last AGM:

DWP Hodnett

Resolution regarding the placing		
of unissued shares under the		
control of the directors:	96,99	Passed

99,99

99,97

Passed

Passed

Special resolution

Resolution regarding the authority for a general repurchase of ordinary shares:

The special resolution will be lodged with CIPRO in due course.

Johannesburg 21 April 2010

Enquiries:

David Hodnett

Group Financial Director

Tel: (+2711) 350 2623

Email: <u>David.Hodnett@absa.co.za</u>

Sponsor:

JP Morgan Equities Limited