## **ABSA GROUP LIMITED**

Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa (Registration number: 1986/003934/06) JSE share code: ABG ISIN: ZAE000255915 Bond issuer code: ABGI ("Absa Group" or "Group")

## **ABSA BANK LIMITED**

(Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa) (Registration number: 1986/004794/06) JSE share code: ABSP ISIN: ZAE000079810 Bond issuer code: BIABS ("Absa Bank")

## CHANGES TO ABSA GROUP AND ABSA BANK LEAD INDEPENDENT DIRECTOR AND ABSA GROUP BOARD COMMITTEES

In accordance with paragraph 3.59 of the JSE Limited (JSE) Listings Requirements and paragraph 6.39 of the JSE Debt Listings Requirements, shareholders are informed that the Absa Group and Absa Bank Boards have resolved that Sipho M Pityana will cease to be Lead Independent Director of Absa Group and Absa Bank, chairman of the Remuneration Committee (RemCo) and, as a consequence, member of the Directors' Affairs Committee (DAC), with immediate effect.

The Boards will appoint a new Lead Independent Director and chairman of the RemCo and advise shareholders in due course.

Johannesburg 12 November 2021

Enquiries: Nadine Drutman +27 (0) 11 350 5347 E-mail: Nadine.Drutman@absa.africa

Lead Independent Sponsor: J.P. Morgan Equities South Africa Proprietary Limited

Joint Sponsor: Absa Bank - Corporate and Investment Bank